USMTS keeps slinging mud this weekend in Mason City

USMTS keeps slinging mud this weekend in Mason City

The engines are still warm and the dust has barely settled from a wild weekend of racing for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt at the Ogilvie Raceway, but there’s no rest for the wicked this week.

The best of the best in dirt modified racing travel three hours south on I-35 to North Iowa’s Action Track for a back-to-back tripleheader at the popular Pritchard Family Auto Stores Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa.

The three-night excursion happens this Thursday, Friday and Saturday, July 20-22, for the 10th Annual USMTS North Iowa Nationals presented by Christie Door Store—a prelude to the 25th Anniversary USMTS Silver Jubilee here in August.

The winner on Thursday gets $3,000 while Friday’s feature winner takes home $5,000. Saturday’s curtain-closer will dole out a whopping $10,000 to the USMTS main event victor.

After a runner-up finish in Saturday’s Mod Wars finale, series points leader Rodney Sanders leads a charge of throttle-mashing contenders into the 1/3-mile speedplant as the seeks his fifth USMTS title.

Points Standings
(as of July 17, 2023)

1. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas, 1917 (2 wins)
2. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla., 1816
3. 0 Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz., 1777 (2 wins)
4. 24C Jim Chisholm, Osage, Iowa, 1764 (1 win)
5. 60 Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn., 1744 (2 wins)
6. 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan., 1725 (1 win)
7. 4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla., 1711
8. 11X Tom Berry Jr. (R), Des Moines, Iowa, 1693 (2 wins)
9. 4W Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark., 1661 (2 wins)
10. 10C Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, Iowa, 1644 (2 wins)
11. 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo., 1635 (1 win)
12. 33Z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa, 1629 (1 win)
13. K9 Will Krup (R), Mt. Carmel, Ill., 1596
14. 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan., 1589
15. 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., El Paso, Texas, 1483 (1 win)
16. 4 Jeremy Nelson (R), Alexandria, Minn., 1408
17. 38T Dylan Thornton, Orcutt, Calif., 1367
18. 49 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn., 1272 (3 wins)
19. 21K Kyle Brown, Madrid, Iowa, 1269
20. 10B Brandon Givens, Wichita, Kan., 1248
22. 99L Steve Lavasseur (R), River Falls, Wis., 1165
Other winners:
65 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan. (1 win)
28 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn. (1 win)
97 Cade Dillard, Robeline, La. (1 win)
50III Brandon Davis, Hayfield, Minn. (1 win)

Medieval USRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods and USRA Hobby Stocks will join the program on Thursday as they compete for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points and $600 to win in each class.

Meanwhile, Friday and Saturday will feature the mud-slinging WINS Sprint Car Series racing for $700 to win Friday and $1,200 to win Saturday. On top of that, fans will witness school bus races on both nights.

The pit gates opens at 4 p.m., grandstands open at 5 each day. Following the drivers meeting at 6:15, hot laps and qualifying begins at 6:30 with racing to follow around 7:10.

All times are Central Standard Time. Youth ages 17 and under must have signed Minor Release to enter the pits.

The Mason City Motor Speedway is a 1/3-mile clay oval located 5.1 miles east of I-35 at exit 194 on SR 122 (at the North Iowa Fairgrounds). For more information, call (515) 832-6000 or check out You can also follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

For its Silver Anniversary season, the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt currently features 45 nights of racing at 15 of America's premier dirt track racing venues in nine states. The winners of those events are set to earn more than $300,000 with nearly $2 million in purses and prize money earmarked for the 2023 campaign.

Watch every USMTS event online live and on-demand from anywhere on any device with RacinDirt.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCallies Performance ProductsChevrolet PerformanceFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanVP RacingWieland.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsCollins Brothers TowingD&T Marriott Enterprise, LLCDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comHacienda MechanicalKenny's TileMel Hambelton RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingS&S Fishing & RentalSalty's BBQ & CateringShocker HitchShop Quik

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race WheelsAFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKeyser ManufacturingMD3MSD PerformancePenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilly’s Carb & Dyno ShopWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-70 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park.

Latest Headlines

USMTS sponsors headed for PRI Trade Show

The PRI Trade Show encompasses all forms of racing and attracts attendees from all 50 states and across the globe. This year's event is Dec. 7-9 in Indianapolis, and dozens of USMTS…

USMTS Black Friday Sale underway!

Looking for that perfect surprise gift for the race fan in your life? Missed out on getting that wicked shirt you saw at the USMTS souvenir trailer? Have no fear because the annual U…


ARMI All-American next for USMTS at Arrowhead Speedway Oct. 12-14

The biggest and highest-paying dirt modified show in Oklahoma history will take place at the all-new state-of-the-art Arrowhead Speedway on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, October 12-14, with the inaugural running of the ARMI  Contractors All-American. Summit USMTS Modifieds will compete for

August 5: USMTS Slick-Mist Show-Me Shootout

Lucas Oil Speedway hosts USMTS Slick-Mist Show-Me Shootout August 5


20th Annual USMTS Southern MN Spring Challenge @ Deer Creek Speedway 5/26/23

20th Annual USMTS Southern MN Spring Challenge @ Deer Creek Speedway 5/25/23