Junghans Memorial postponed, Lucas Oil Speedway good to go Saturday

Junghans Memorial postponed, Lucas Oil Speedway good to go Saturday

The 7th Annual USMTS Grant Junghans Memorial presented by Shop Quik was set for Friday, Aug. 4, at the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., but Mother Nature had others plans.

Due to rain and saturated grounds, along with a chance for even more Friday night, $12,002-to-win one-night stand has been postponed to a later date this fall to be announced. The event will likely pair with another event on a new weekend.


On Saturday, Aug. 5, the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt brings the heat back to the Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., for the $10,000-to-win 13th Annual USMTS Slick-Mist Show-Me Shootout presented by Foley Equipment.

2021 USMTS National Champion Dereck Ramirez returns to try for his fourth straight victory at the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks.”

Considered by racers, fans and industry insiders to be one of the top five—if not the best—racing facilities in the nation, the Lucas Oil Speedway features 21 VIP luxury suites, a giant HD Jumbo Tron screen, Musco Sports lighting, Bose Stadium sound system, Go kart slick track for all ages, The Diamond Bar, the best track food in the country, and the nicest pits in dirt track racing are just a few of the amenities that set this place apart from the others.

Derek Ramirez has won the last three Lucas Oil Slick Mist Show-Me Shootouts.

What's more, this event is happening just two months before the 10th Annual Summit USRA Nationals in October, so look for a massive car count with USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods also on the program, along with Hermitage Lumber Late Models.

With 16 prior visits to the Lucas Oil Speedway, defending USMTS National Champion Dereck Ramirez has won the last three Slick Mist Show-Me Shootouts. Kelly Shryock, Jeremy Payne and Terry Phillips are two-time winners here.

Jason Krohn, Ryan Gustin, Johnny Scott, Zack VanderBeek, Stormy Scott, Rodney Sanders and Tanner Mullens each have one win in Wheatland on their résumé.

Check out the Fast Facts for complete details about the 13th Annual USMTS Slick-Mist Show-Me Shootout presented by Foley Equipment.

The Lucas Oil Speedway is a semi-banked 3/8-mile clay oval located 0.2 mile south of US 54 on SR 83, then east to 18842 Speedway Dr, Wheatland, MO 65779.

For more information, check out and follow Lucas Oil Speedway on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

(top 20 as of Aug. 3, 2023)

1. 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas ... 2148 (2 wins)
2. 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla. ... 2070
3. 24C Jim Chisholm, Osage, Iowa ... 2031 (2 wins)
4. 0 Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz. ... 2000 (2 wins)
5. 4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla. ... 1977 (1 win)
6. 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. ... 1951 (1 win)
7. 60 Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn. ... 1928 (2 wins)
8. 11X Tom Berry Jr., Des Moines, Iowa ... 1869 (2 wins)
9. 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo. ... 1866 (2 wins)
10. 4W Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark. ... 1858 (2 wins)
11. 10C Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, Iowa ... 1856 (2 wins)
12. 33Z Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa ... 1839 (1 win)
13. K9 Will Krup, Mt. Carmel, Ill. ... 1786
14. 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan. ... 1724
15. 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., El Paso, Texas ... 1686 (1 win)
16. 4 Jeremy Nelson, Alexandria, Minn. ... 1623
17. 38T Dylan Thornton, Orcutt, Calif. ... 1526
18. 21K Kyle Brown, Madrid, Iowa ... 1451
19. 49 Jake Timm, Winona, Minn. ... 1400 (3 wins)
20. 10B Brandon Givens, Wichita, Kan. ... 1394

For its Silver Anniversary season, the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt currently features racing at some of America's premier dirt track racing venues. The winners of those events are set to earn more than $300,000 with nearly $2 million in purses and prize money earmarked for the 2023 campaign.

Watch every USMTS event online live and on-demand from anywhere on any device with RacinDirt. Download the app at Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV or on Google Play.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCallies Performance ProductsChevrolet PerformanceFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanVP RacingWieland.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsCollins Brothers TowingD&T Marriott Enterprise, LLCDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comHacienda MechanicalKenny's TileMel Hambelton RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingS&S Fishing & RentalSalty's BBQ & CateringShocker HitchShop Quik

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race WheelsAFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKeyser ManufacturingMD3MSD PerformancePenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilly's Carb & Dyno ShopWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-70 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park.

Latest Headlines

Gressel Memorial on tap at 81 Speedway

This Friday and Saturday, June 21-22, the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt descends on the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kan, to honor racing legend Ed Gressel. …

Rain ruins fourth straight USMTS race

The stars and cars of the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt will see the postponement of two more long-awaited events this week, bringing Mother Nature’s win streak to four.…

USMTS rocks Granite City on Sunday

Sunday, June 16, features a $5,000-to-win clash for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt at the Granite City Motor Park in Sauk Rapids, Minn.…

Rain wipes out Masters finale

Unfortunately, the Saturday night portion of the 25th Annual Masters has been cancelled due to weather. The event will not be made up. For fans who purchased multi-day event tickets,…


USMTS Poetry at Masters

AFTERSHOCK: Summit USMTS at Cedar Lake Speedway 6/14/24


Mississippi Thunder Speedway 5/24/24

Fayette County Speedway 5/23/24