USMTS fixin’ to fire off at Fall Jamboree

USMTS fixin’ to fire off at Fall Jamboree

The best of the best are preparing for the 25th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, Sept. 21-23, when the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt invades the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn.

This year's event will feature a $3,000 top prize for the Summit USMTS Modifieds on Thursday, followed by a $5,000-to-win feature on Friday and $12,000 to Saturday's winner of the 30-car main event that will start three-wide.

USRA B-Mods will be racing all three nights too, with twin features paying $500 to win each on Thursday and Friday. Saturday's finale will dole out $1,500 to the winner. Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points are up for grabs all three nights.

FAST FACTS: 25th Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree

More than any other racetrack, the high-banked 3/8-mile clay oval located in the rolling hills of Southern Minnesota will be hosting Summit USMTS Modifieds for the 126th time on Thursday. The last 125 features have produced 47 different winners.

Nine-time USMTS national champ Kelly Shryock won the first-ever contest here in 2002—his first of 10 at Deer Creek—while Rodney Sanders has garnered 13 checkered flags here. Both take a back seat, however, to Jason Hughes who has a series-best 14 victories.

125 features, 47 different winners (2002-2023)
14 - Jason Hughes.
13 - Rodney Sanders.
10 - Kelly Shryock.
7 - Ryan Gustin.
5 - Brandon Davis, Tim Donlinger, Jake O'Neil, Terry Phillips.
4 - Jason Cummins, Brad Waits.
3 - Cade Dillard, Joey Jensen, Lucas Schott, Zack VanderBeek.
2 - Jim Chisholm, Corey Dripps, Jason Krohn, Dereck Ramirez, Ryan Ruter, Johnny Scott, Stormy Scott, Dustin Sorensen.
1 - Steve Arpin, Jacob Bleess, Mark Burgtorf, Cayden Carter, Dan Chapman, Dan Daniels, Les Duellman, Tony Fraise, Jordan Grabouski, Mike Hejna, Chad Kinder, Dean Mahlstedt, Brad McEwan, Tommy Myer, Mark Noble, Jeremy Payne, Mike Sorensen, Mike Spaulding, Jon Tesch, Craig Thatcher, Jake Timm, Randy Timms, Darin Walker, Tommy Weder Jr., Steve Wetzstein.

In 24 championship features at the Fall Jamboree, there have been 18 drivers to win it just once. Only three have done it more than once.

Jason Hughes is the only five-time winner while Rodney Sanders and Jake O'Neil are both two-time Fall Jamboree champions. O'Neil (2020-2021) and Hughes (2009-2010) did it back-to-back.

Hughes is still the only driver to sweep all three nights of the event, which he did in 2015. Jim Chisholm is the defending FFJ champ.

1999 - Ron Jones, Zimmerman, Minn. *
2000 - Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb. *
2001 - Willy Kraft, Lakefield, Minn. *
2002 - Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, Minn.
2003 - Dan Daniels, Humboldt, Kan.
2004 - Kelly Shryock, Fertile, Iowa
2005 - Jason Hughes, Colcord, Okla.
2006 - Chad Kinder, Newton, Ill.
2007 - Dean Mahlstedt, Clear Lake, Iowa
2008 - Tim Donlinger, Rochester, Minn.
2009 - Jason Hughes, Westville, Okla.
2010 - Jason Hughes, Westville, Okla.
2011 - Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.
2012 - Joey Jensen, Forest Lake, Minn.
2013 - Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.
2014 - Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas
2015 - Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.
2016 - Tommy Weder Jr., Woodward, Okla.
2017 - Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa
2018 - Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas
2019 - Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
2020 - Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
2021 - Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
2022 - Jim Chisholm, Osage, Iowa

* The Featherlite Fall Jamboree was held at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, from 1999-2001. The event has been held at the Deer Creek Speedway since 2002.

Saturday's annual Non-Qualifiers Race will pay $2,000 to win and $250 to start for the next 30 racers that fail to make the 30-car main event.

2002 - Jay Ihrke, Dover, Minn.
2003 - Brandon Jensen, Hammond, Wis.
2004 - Mike Sorensen, Rochester, Minn.
2005 - Nate Wasmund, Rochester, Minn.
2006 - Mike Steensma, Luverne, Minn.
2007 - Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn.
2008 - Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa
2009 - Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn.
2010 - Bumper Jones, Mesilla Park, N.M.
2011 - Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.
2012 - Brandon Beckendorf, Danube, Minn.
2013 - Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.
2014 - Steve Whiteaker Jr., Corpus Christi, Texas
2015 - Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn.
2016 - Robby Bunkelman, Abbotsford, Wis.
2017 - Jon Mitchell, Texarkana, Texas
2018 - Mark Motl, Owatonna, Minn.
2019 - R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.
2020 - Jeff Spacek, Phillips, Wis.
2021 - Ryan Gierke, Villard, Minn.
2022 - Cory Crapser, Chippewa Falls, Wis.

Click here to select your seat(s) and purchase tickets online before Sept. 20. Otherwise, tickets will be available at the gate on race day.

If you can't be there in person, witness all the action from anywhere on any device with RacinDirt. Watch live and get exclusive content on your desktop, laptop tablet or a suite of apps like Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV and Google Play.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCallies Performance ProductsChevrolet PerformanceFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanVP RacingWieland.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsCollins Brothers TowingD&T Marriott Enterprise, LLCDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comHacienda MechanicalKenny's TileMel Hambelton RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingS&S Fishing & RentalSalty's BBQ & CateringShocker HitchShop Quik

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race WheelsAFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKeyser ManufacturingMD3MSD PerformancePenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilly's Carb & Dyno ShopWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park.

Latest Headlines

USMTS Concert Guide

This comprehensive guide will help you navigate the upcoming concerts in Kansas City, Minneapolis and Amarillo, highlighting the best venues and top artists performing in these regions.…


USMTS Poetry at Masters

AFTERSHOCK: Summit USMTS at Cedar Lake Speedway 6/14/24


Deer Creek Speedway 5/25/24

Mississippi Thunder Speedway 5/24/24