Berry blasts to 2023 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award

Berry blasts to 2023 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award

The Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt tests the skill of the nation's best and most successful dirt modified drivers on the planet, and Tom Berry Jr. put his skills on display during the opening weekend of action for the 2023 season.

The series kicked off the 25th season of USMTS action in March at the 13th Annual Summit Spring Nationals at the Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas, with an event record 87 entries. Drivers had one eye on the $10,000 winner's share of the purse and the other on the $100,000 paycheck awaiting the 2023 USMTS National Champion at season's end.

Five of the drivers in the first six rows to start the 40-lap main event were seeking their first USMTS victory, but when the checkered flag waved it was just four as Tom Berry Jr. scored his first win in the kickoff to his quest for the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year title.

Berry comes from a deeply rooted family legacy which includes his grandfather, Bill Berry, who was a professional drag boat racer who held the world record in 1967 and 1968, and his father, Tom Berry Sr., a professional AMA flat track racer from 1970-1980.

A third generation racer from Oregon now living in Des Moines, Iowa, Berry captured two USMTS checkered flags in 2023, and wrapped up the season with two top-10 finishes at the Arrowhead Speedway to clinch the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award.

Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year
Final 2023 standings and statistics
1. 11X Tom Berry Jr., Des Moines, Iowa ... 1784 (2 wins)
2. K9 Will Krup, Mt. Carmel, Ill. ... 1727
3. 4 Jeremy Nelson, Alexandria, Minn. ... 1587
4. 58X Gary Christian, Broken Bow, Okla. ... 1508
5. 99L Steve Lavasseur, River Falls, Wis. ... 1321

Rookie points are awarded to each eligible competitor based on their best twenty-four (24) points efforts during the year. Eligible drivers have not participated in more than twenty-four (24) USMTS events prior to the current year, or won a USMTS "A" Main during a prior year.

Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award winners:
2000 – Kevin Peters, Monmouth, Ill.
2001 – Jason Hughes, Salina, Okla.
2002 – Justin Boney. Leavenworth, Kan.
2003 – Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls, Iowa
2004 – Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa
2005 – Brad McEwan, Storm Lake, Iowa
2006 – Jay Poidinger, Somerset, Wis.
2007 – Scott Green, Derby, Kan.
2008 – Brandon Kenny, Woodward, Okla.
2009 – Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.
2010 – Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
2011 – Jason Grimes. Jamestown, N.D.
2012 – Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
2013 – Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
2014 – Cade Dillard, Robeline, La.
2015 – Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa
2016 – Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz.
2017 – R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.
2018 – Jake O'Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
2019 – Hunter Mariott, Brookfield, Mo.
2020 – Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan.
2021 – Brooks Strength, Raymond, Miss.
2022 – Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, Iowa
2023 – Tom Berry Jr., Des Moines, Iowa.

With 24 different drivers garnering the USMTS rookie title, five of them have never won a USMTS feature, although the other 19 have a combined 398 victories during their careers.

Only Hughes (2001) and Johnny Scott (2010) also went on to win a USMTS national championship. Hughes has four while Scott has one.

Among those competing for the rookie title in 2023, drivers still below the starts threshold and eligible to compete for the honors in 2024 include Randy Brown, Cody Thompson, Jacob Hobscheidt, Trevor Hughes, Colton Eck, Wyatt Gaggero, Daniel Drury, Chase Wascom, Corey Neil Jr., Brennan Gave, Cory Davis, Tyler Barker and Casey Schlichting.

Watch every USMTS event online live and on-demand from anywhere on any device with RacinDirt. Download the app at Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV or on Google Play.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCallies Performance ProductsChevrolet PerformanceFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanVP RacingWieland.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsCollins Brothers TowingD&T Marriott Enterprise, LLCDAY MotorsportsDuvall ElectricGunshepherd.comHacienda MechanicalKenny's TileMel Hambelton RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingS&S Fishing & RentalSalty's BBQ & CateringShocker HitchShop Quik

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race WheelsAFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKeyser ManufacturingMD3MSD PerformancePenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilly's Carb & Dyno ShopWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park.

Latest Headlines

Brandon Davis puts the MTS in USMTS

Brandon Davis was fast out of the box Friday as the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt flooded the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain City, Wis., with the B…

Chisholm wins USMTS War in West Union

He only led the final lap on Wednesday but Jim Chisholm led all 40 on Thursday en route to Victory Fuel Victory Lane at the Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa, for the 11th Ann…

Pentathlon of USMTS battles this Memorial Day Weekend

Five events are on the calendar for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt this Memorial Day Weekend, and the individual racetracks will each offer a unique challenge for the Best of the Best in dirt modified racing.…

USMTS rained out at RPM Speedway

The 3rd Annual North Texas Nationals featuring the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt won't happen this weekend as saturated grounds are expected to get even …

USMTS welcomes STAKT to family of sponsors

Officials from the United States Modified Touring Series is excited to welcome another innovator to the family of marketing partners with STAKT Products, LLC, all-in as a participating …


14th Annual USMTS Spring Classic coming May 22

The Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt returns to action on Wednesday May 22, for the 14th Annual USMTS Spring Classic at the historic Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa—the oldest racing facility in the Hawkeye State. This will be the only

North Texas Nationals awaits USMTS road warriors

AFTERSHOCK: USMTS Spring Salute | Arrowhead Speedway 4/19/24


RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII 4/6/24

RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII 4/5/24