USMTS fires up 2024 with four nights in North Texas

USMTS fires up 2024 with four nights in North Texas

The 26th season featuring America’s premier powerhouse of dirt modified racing kicks off the 2024 campaign with a huge doubleheader weekend in the Lone Star State for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt.

Fire lights the fuse on Friday and Saturday, February 23-24, with the 9th Annual Summit USMTS Texas Winter Nationals at the Hunt County Raceway in Greenville, Texas, and then blasts off the next weekend at the Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas, on Friday and Saturday, March 1-2.

Both North Texas venues will host an open practice on Thursday night from 6-9 p.m. before the two doubleheaders. All four shows will pay $5,000 to win for the Summit USMTS Modifieds—a possible $20,000 to sweep the first four features of 2024.

Returning to the former Superbowl Speedway for the first time since 2019, the Hunt County Raceway is a 1/4-mile semi-banked dirt oval located 5.0 miles south of Greenville on SR 34, then west on FM 1903 to 437 FM-1903, Greenville, TX, 75402.

The USMTS debuted here in 2014 with Johnny Scott taking the win and his twin brother, Stormy Scott, grabbing the next one three months later. Cade Dillard won the 2016 event and Ryan Gustin captured the last event here on June 4, 2019.

For more information, follow Hunt County Raceway on Facebook, call (469) 964-2224 or email.

After a thriller to open the 25th Anniversary season last year, fans can expect more of the same when the USMTS returns to Kevin Sustaire’s Rocket Raceway Park.

Eventual Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Tom Berry Jr. bested veteran Terry Phillips and a record 85 entries on the first night while Jake Timm topped the rain-delayed Sunday show.

Meanwhile, eventual USMTS national champ Dustin Sorensen topped the opening night in 2022 with the finale of the 12th Annual Texas Spring Nationals going to Tyler Davis—the eventual Summit USRA Modified National Champion.

Prior to that, the series was rained out in 2019 when the track was called 82 Speedway. Before that, it was known as East Texas Speedway and Philip Houston won the first USMTS contest here on June 25, 2015.

For more information, check out, follow on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Summit USMTS superstars expected for the two opening weekends include five-time USMTS titlist Rodney Sanders, four-time champ Jason Hughes, Jim Chisholm, Dereck Ramirez, Tanner Mullens, Jake O'Neil, Dan Ebert, Tyler Wolff, Zack VanderBeek, Cayden Carter, Will Krup, Darron Fuqua, Carlos Ahumada Jr., Jeremy Nelson, Gary Christian and many more.

USRA Stock Cars, USRA Limited Mods and Sunoco USRA Factory Stocks will also be racing all four nights with Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points up for grabs. Eco-Mods join the action in Greenville.

For more information including payouts, rules, event times and ticket prices, check out the FAST FACTS for each event:
Hunt County Raceway
Rocket Raceway Park

On the heels of a record-breaking year and the richest season in the first 25 years of the series, officials from the United States Modified Touring Series have announced another bold and lucrative schedule for 2024.

In 2023—the most competitive season in USMTS history—18 different winners claimed victory utilizing 17 different chassis manufacturers in the 34 races that were held. What’s more, there were 17 competitors who attended every event.

With live and on-demand coverage of nearly every event plus exclusive interviews, instant replays, multiple camera angles and more, RacinDirt is your source for USMTS action. In addition to their robust website at RacinDirt.TV, race fans can access content on your desktop and laptop computers, as well as a suite of apps for added convenience including Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV and Google Play.

Check out for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Don't forget to subscribe for free and get USMTS news delivered to your inbox plus Members Only benefits.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCallies Performance ProductsChevrolet PerformanceFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentTicketSmarterVP RacingWieland.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsCollins Brothers TowingD&T Marriott Enterprise, LLCDay Motor SportsGunshepherd.comHacienda MechanicalKenny's TileMel Hambelton RacingMiller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingSalty's BBQ & CateringShop Quik

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AERO Race WheelsAFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage Racing OpticiansEdelbrockGorsuch Performance SolutionsHooker HarnessHypercoIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsKeyser ManufacturingMD3MSD PerformancePenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1Quarter MasterRacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsRush RaceGear by Austin WittSimpson Performance ProductsSweet ManufacturingSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTotal PowerVictory FuelWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilly’s Carb & Dyno ShopWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Beatrice Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Granite City Motor Park, Hamilton County Speedway, Heart O’ Texas Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Hunt County Raceway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Off Road Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Tri-State Speedway.

Latest Headlines

Hunt County Raceway checkers wave for Chisholm

Everybody held their breath for the first half of Saturday night’s 50-lap main event at the Hunt County Raceway in Greenville, Texas, but the last 25 laps belonged to Jim Chisholm…

Hunt County Raceway Lineups

9th Annual Summit USMTS Winter Nationals takes place Friday and Saturday, Feb. 23-24, at the Hunt County Raceway in Greenville, Texas.…


King of America XIII coming March 7-9

RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII takes place March 7-9 at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kan. For complete information check out the FAST FACTS for everything you need know.

USMTS opens 2024 season at Hunt County Raceway

AFCO Racing 2023 PRI Recap


10th Annual USMTS North Iowa Nationals | Mason City Motor Speedway | July 20-22, 2023

3rd Annual Mod Wars | Ogilvie Raceway | July 13-15, 2023