USMTS refires this week at Rocket Raceway Park

USMTS refires this week at Rocket Raceway Park

Following an exciting opening weekend an hour away in Greenville, Texas, the undisputed best of the best in dirt modified racing rolls into the second half of the doubleheader weekend this Friday and Saturday, March 1-2, at the Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas.

Four-time USMTS national champ Jason Hughes of Westville, Okla., leads the charge with a win and a second-place finish already under his belt in the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt.

Jake Timm is second in points followed by Jim Chisholm, Tyler Davis, Dereck Ramirez, Rodney Sanders, Carlos Ahumada Jr., Dan Ebert and Lucas Schott, with Tanner Mullens and Gary Christian tied for the tenth spot.

Other racers expected include Terry Phillips, Mike Hansen, Timothy Culp, A.J. Hoff, Gabe Hodges, Jason Ingalls, Joe Duvall, Jacob Hobscheidt, Jack Sartain, D.J. Shannon, Jason Langford, Sean Gaddis, Matthew Day, Boone Evans, Clyde Dunn Jr., Jon Mitchell, Kyle Brown, Alex Williamson, Ricky Ingalls, Eric Tomlinson, Landon Capps, Mason Williams, Casey Fowler, Jeremy LaCoe, Jared Baird, Tyler Townsend, Jason Gamez, Chris Kratzer, Robert McKinney, Manuel Williams Sr., Tyler Burnett, Steven Glenn, Billy Jack Brutchin, Brandon Givens, Rusty Trevathan, David Tanner and Tim Eaves Jr.

The track will host an open practice on Thursday, followed by two nights of racing during the 14th Annual USMTS Texas Spring Nationals with $5,000 to win each night.

After a thriller to open the 25th Anniversary season for the USMTS last year, fans can expect more of the same when the series returns to Kevin Sustaire’s Rocket Raceway Park this weekend.

Eventual Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Tom Berry Jr. bested veteran Terry Phillips and a record 85 entries on the first night while Jake Timm topped the rain-delayed Sunday show.

Tyler Davis—the eventual Summit USRA Modified National Champion—won this event in 2022 while Dustin Sorensen topped opening night. Philip Houston won the first USMTS contest here on June 25, 2015.

USRA Stock Cars, USRA Limited Mods and Sunoco USRA Factory Stocks battle both nights with Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points up for grabs.

For more information including payouts, rules, event times and ticket prices, check out the FAST FACTS for the 14th Annual USMTS Texas Spring Nationals.

In 2023—the most competitive season in USMTS history—18 different winners claimed victory utilizing 17 different chassis manufacturers in the 34 races that were held. What’s more, there were 17 competitors who attended every event.

This year’s Summit USMTS National Champion could pocket more than $180,000 in post-season earnings at the end of the year.

The series champion will earn $50,000 and each of the three regions pay $10,000 to win the points. If a driver can win all three regions and the national points, a whopping $100,000 bonus awaits.

And don't forget, the RacinDirt TV Challenge is $30,000 which will be split evenly between all drivers with perfect attendance in 2024. Currently, there are 48 still standing.

With live and on-demand coverage of nearly every event plus exclusive interviews, instant replays, multiple camera angles and more, RacinDirt.TV is your source for streaming USMTS action.

Check out for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Don't forget to subscribe for free and get USMTS news delivered to your inbox plus Members Only benefits.

Latest Headlines

USMTS Concert Guide

This comprehensive guide will help you navigate the upcoming concerts in Kansas City, Minneapolis and Amarillo, highlighting the best venues and top artists performing in these regions.…


USMTS Poetry at Masters

AFTERSHOCK: Summit USMTS at Cedar Lake Speedway 6/14/24


Deer Creek Speedway 5/25/24

Mississippi Thunder Speedway 5/24/24