King of America XIII will be crowned this week at Humboldt Speedway

King of America XIII will be crowned this week at Humboldt Speedway

NOTE: This event has been postponed to Thursday, Friday and Saturday, April 4-6.

RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII takes place this Thursday, Friday and Saturday, March 7-9, at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kan., featuring the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt.

Thursday's opener will mark the 62nd main event in 25 years for the USMTS in Humboldt. Only the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn., has hosted more than ‘The Hummer.’

The inaugural visit to Humboldt on June 28, 2000, saw Johnny Bone Jr. capture his first of two USMTS wins here, but the most prolific racer in Humboldt Speedway history is Jason Hughes with 13 career USMTS wins here.

Stormy Scott is a six-time winner while Kelly Shryock and Ryan Gustin each have five wins. Rodney Sanders has four checkered flags at the exciting high-banked 1/4-mile clay oval. Each of these four are also former King of America champions. Gustin is the only driver to wear the crown twice.

With his opening night win in this event last year, Terry Phillips has three triumphs to his credit. Two-time winners include Bone, Jason Krohn, Johnny Scott, Zack VanderBeek and Jake O'Neil.

Past USMTS winners at Humboldt Speedway:
13 - Jason Hughes
6 - Stormy Scott
5 - Kelly Shryock and Ryan Gustin
4 - Rodney Sanders
3 - Terry Phillips
2 - Johnny Bone Jr., Jason Krohn, Johnny Scott, Zack VanderBeek and Jake O'Neil
1 - Tim Donlinger, Jon Tesch, Steve Holzkamper, William Gould, Jeremy Payne, Mitch Keeter, Kyle Strickler, Lucas Schott, Ricky Thornton Jr., Tanner Mullens, Carlos Ahumada Jr., Brooks Strength, Kale Westover, Dereck Ramirez and Dan Ebert

Gould, Keeter, Strickler, Strength and Westover picked up their first and only career USMTS wins at the Humboldt Speedway—all of them happening during King of America weekend. Strength was the champion while the others topped preliminary features.

Eleven different drivers have claimed victory in the previous 12 King of America contests, and the list is a who’s-who of dirt modified racing.

Ebert, hot off a win on Saturday at the Rocket Raceway Park, is the reigning King of America, and comes into this weekend sitting atop the USMTS points standings.

O’Neil added the King of America crown to his trophy case in 2022 while Strength captured his first and only USMTS feature win in 2021 to earn the biggest triumph of his career en route to garnering the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year title.

Prior to an off-year for the COVID-19 hysteria in 2020, Thornton captured the crown in 2019 and Schott was the 2018 winner after Gustin won in 2017 to become the first and only repeat winner of this event.

VanderBeek captured the title in 2016 after a thrilling late-race battle with Sanders—the 2014 winner. Hughes was the 2015 winner; Stormy Scott topped the 2012 event and Shryock claimed the inaugural crown in 2011.

Past USMTS King of America Champions:
Oct. 22, 2011 – Kelly Shryock
March 31, 2012 – Stormy Scott
March 30, 2013 – Ryan Gustin
March 29, 2014 – Rodney Sanders
March 28, 2015 – Jason Hughes
April 2, 2016 – Zack VanderBeek
March 25, 2017 - Ryan Gustin
March 17, 2018 - Lucas Schott
March 23, 2019 - Ricky Thornton Jr.
March 27, 2021 - Brooks Strength
March 26, 2022 - Jake O'Neil
March 25, 2023 - Dan Ebert

The Humboldt Speedway is located 0.1 mile west of US 169 at the Humboldt exit, then 0.5 mile south, then 0.9 mile east to 1663 Georgia Rd, Humboldt, KS 66748.

While the KoA crown and $12,000 winner’s share of the prize money are the dangling carrots of this week’s blockbuster, points will be awarded in the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt and the Mel Hambelton Racing USMTS Central Region for the first time this season.

Mel Hambelton Racing USMTS Central Region:
March 7-9,  Humboldt Speedway, Humboldt, Kan., RacinDirt King of America XIII
May 22,  Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa, 14th Annual Spring Classic
June 18,  Off Road Speedway, Norfolk, Neb., Inaugural Event
June 19,  Beatrice Speedway, Beatrice, Neb., 3rd Annual Battle on the Big Blue River
June 20-22,  81 Speedway, Park City, Kan., 2nd Annual Ed Gressel Memorial
July 17,  Park Jefferson Speedway, Jefferson, S.D., 9th Annual River City Rumble
Aug. 2-3,  Lucas Oil Speedway, Wheatland, Mo., 14th Annual Show-Me Shootout
Aug. 8-9,  Lakeside Speedway. Kansas City, Kan., 7th & 8th Annual Grant Junghans Memorial
Oct. 25,  Lakeside Speedway, Kansas City, Kan., 13th Annual Jayhawk Classic
Oct. 26,  81 Speedway, Park City, Kan., 4th Annual Modified Spooktacular

One driver could pocket more than $180,000 in post-season earnings at the end of the season. This year’s USMTS national champion will earn $50,000 and each of the three regional champs get $10,000. If a driver wins all three regions and the national points, a staggering $100,000 bonus awaits.

Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt
Top 10 after March 2, 2024
1. Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn., 337
2. Jake Timm, Winona, Minn., 333
3. Jason Hughes, Westville, Okla., 328
4. Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan., 319
5. Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan., 317
6. Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo., 305
7. Gary Christian, Broken Bow, Okla., 297
8. Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla., 296
9. Mike Hansen, Dickinson, N.D., 290
10. Jim Chisholm, Osage, Iowa, 285

What’s more, the RacinDirt TV Challenge is $30,000 which will be split evenly between all drivers with perfect attendance in 2024. After March 2, there are 40 drivers with perfect attendance remaining.

USMTS drivers, get registered now for RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII or call (515) 832-7944 this week. Entry fee prices will increase on race day. For more information including history, payouts, rules, event times and ticket prices, check out the FAST FACTS for RacinDirt King of America XIII. Watch RacinDirt live and get exclusive content on your desktop, laptop tablet or a suite of apps like Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV and Google Play.

In 2023—the 25th Anniversary of the USMTS and most competitive season in series history—a record 18 different winners claimed victory utilizing a record 17 different chassis manufacturers in the 34 races that were held. What’s more, there were a record 17 competitors who attended every event.

Check out for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Don't forget to subscribe for free and get USMTS news delivered to your inbox plus Members Only benefits.

Latest Headlines

King of America XIII postponed

With all other races complete, rain came with just two laps in the books, and the 60-lap main event for the Summity USMTS Modifieds was rained out. A makeup date will be announced …

Timm takes knight II at King of America XIII

During the final three laps of the main event Friday night during King of America XIII presented by RacinDirt, second-generation rising star Jake Timm got the lead, lost it and then gra…

And then there were 23...

The RacinDirt TV Challenge is $30,000+ which will be split evenly between all drivers with perfect attendance in 2024. There were 40 who raced all four shows in Texas back in March, but…


USMTS Spring Salute April 19 @Arrowhead

The USMTS Spring Salute featuring the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt takes place on Friday, April 19, at the Arrowhead Speedway in Colcord, Okla. The event will also feature the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series withUSRA Stock Cars, USRA B-Mods and USRA Tuners in ac

AFTERSHOCK: King of America XIII @ Humboldt Speedway 4/5/24

AFTERSHOCK: King of America XIII @ Humboldt Speedway 4/4/24


RacinDirt USMTS King of America XIII 4/4/24

14th Annual USMTS Texas Spring Nationals Night 2 of 2