Noble picks up another USMTS feature win at Fairmont

FAIRMONT, MN (Aug. 23, 2000) — Mark Noble from Blooming Prairie, MN picked up his fourth USMTS feature win on this beautiful night in southern Minnesota. Noble started the race from the third row outside and took the point from outside pole sitter Kelly Shryock on lap 21.

Shryock from Story City, IA jumped out into the early lead with Corey Dripps on his tail. Shryock put about six car-lengths on Dripps before the first yellow was thrown on lap three. On the restart Shryock once again distanced himself from Dripps and looked to have things going his way.

Noble had worked his way into second by lap seven and was starting to reel in leader Shryock when the yellow was thrown on lap twelve for Dripps who slid off the backstretch. When racing action resumed Shryock did everything he could to hold off Noble for another nine laps when Shryock bobbled in turns one-two and Noble shot down to the inside of the track and came out in front.

The battle for third and fourth was very intense with Tommy Myer and Willy Kraft. Kraft had worked his way by Myer on the thirteenth lap and was right with the leaders. Another push by Shryock on lap twenty-four let Kraft slip by for the runner-up spot. Shryock would maintain the third spot with Kevin Stoa right on his tail. Kraft started the race from the fifth row inside.

Bruce Anderson from Trimont, MN was the AFCO pole award winner. The Olympic Fire Protection Hard Charger of the Race was Stoa who started the race from the eighth row outside. The Midwest Motorsports Rookie of the Race was also Stoa. The Home Pride Companies Passing Points winner was Mike Chasteen.

Heat races were won by Mike Spaulding, Chasteen, Noble, Shryock and Dripps. B-mains were won by Greg Porth and Bret Hansen.

After this race, Shryock took a commanding lead in the points over Chasteen after mechanical failure in the A-main for Chasteen. Peters still leads the Midwest Motorsports Rookie of the Year. Next race will be August 24th at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, IA.


Heat 1 - Mike Spaulding, Tommy Myer, Willy Kraft, Doug Hillson, Matt Hollerich

Heat 2 - Mike Chasteen, Ron Houdek, Brad McEwan, Kevin Peters, Kevin Stoa

Heat 3 - Mark Noble, Dave Nutt, Jason Menz, Greg Porth, David Schuster

Heat 4 - Kelly Shryock, Bruce Anderson, Brad Hollerich, Bret Hansen

Heat 5 - Corey Dripps, Mike Bosma, Jeff Hiveley, Paul Burger, Jerry Goebel

B-main 1 - Greg Porth, Jason Menz, Matt Hollerich, Paul Burger, Tom Finke

B-main 2 - Bret Hansen, Kevin Stoa, Doug Hillson, Kevin Peters, Gary March

A-main - Mark Noble, Willy Kraft, Kelly Shryock, Kevin Stoa, Jason Menz, Dave Nutt, Doug Hillson, Bruce Anderson, Kevin Peters, Kevin Kollofski, Corey Dripps, Matt Hollerich, Brad Hollerich, Gary March, Tommy Myer, Mike Bosma, Paul Burger, Tim Donlinger, Mike Chasteen, Greg Porth, Tom Finke, Mike Spaulding, Ron Houdek, Bret Hansen.

Latest Headlines


Ogilvie Raceway Mod Wars July 16-17

22nd Annual Masters