Myer picks-up first ever USMTS win at Hamilton County Speedway

WEBSTER CITY, IA (Aug. 24, 2000) — Tommy Myer of Blooming Prairie, MN picked up his first ever USMTS main event win on Thursday night at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, IA. Myer has been close on several occasions, but this was finally the night that it would happen. Myer beat the other Blooming Prairie native Mark Noble to the checkered flag.

Myer started the race from the fifth position and inherited the lead on lap 22 after the fourth caution of the night fell. Noble jumped out into the early lead from his front row outside starting spot and looked to as if he would cruise to another victory. After the first three cautions Noble pulled away from the rest of the field leading by more than ten car lengths.

On the 22nd lap however Noble went into turn one a little higher and Myer stuck his front nose on the inside of Noble and going down the back stretch Myer would take the lead. Myer went into turns 3-4 a little hard and pushed off the bottom of the track and coming out of four Noble regained the lead. On lap 23 Myer went into turns 1-2 hard and stuck right of the bottom of the track and regained the lead that he would not relinquish.

Two other drivers that were on the move was Willy Kraft and Johnny Saathoff. Willy started the race ninth and coming for the checkered flag snuck by Kelly Shryock for a third place finish. Saathoff started the race from the seventh row outside and finished a strong fifth place. Saathoff was one of the drivers that was still making the top of the track work when other drivers realized that and also started running a higher line. Saathoff looked as to have the car to beat until other drivers went to the high side of the speedway.

Kevin Pittman started the race from the AFCO pole, but retired early due to mechanical failure. Heat races were won by Tim Donlinger, Martin Bennett, Kelly Shryock, and John Logue. B-mains were won by Jason Hughes and Johnny Saathoff.

After the Webster City race Kelly Shryock maintains the lead in the USMTS point standings over Mike Chasteen after another accident for Chasteen and a twenty-fourth place finish. Kevin Peters has wrapped up the Midwest Motorsports Rookie of the Year.

Kelly Shryock and Mike Chasteen are both battling for the other two awards offered by the USMTS. Shryock maintains the lead in the Home Pride Companies Most Passing Points Award and Chasteen has a five point advantage over Shryock in the Olympic Fire Protection Hard Charger Award.

Next race for the USMTS will be a non-points race at the Hamilton County Speedway. This race will be the 2nd Annual Fall Jamboree. A lot of new changes have been made for this race all races on Saturday will be lined up by points. The main event for the modifieds will pay $7000 to win and $1000 to start the A-main. Also added this year is the non-qualifiers feature that will pay the winner $3000 to win and $400 to start this main event. The stock car class will pay $2000 to win and $250 to start. The hobby stock class will pay $1000 to win and $200 to start. And the local Econo class will pay $500 to win and $100 to start.

The first Annual Fall Nationals at Denison, IA will be the same payoff for all classes except econos will be the cruisers at Denison. Any driver that can win both of these races in the Hobby Stock class will receive a $5000 bonus. In the Stock Car class a $10,000 bonus will be added and in the Modified class a $20,000 bonus will be offered. Tickets are on sale for the 2nd Annual Fall Jamboree today call Todd or Janet at (515) 832-6321. Jeff Schuellter from New Hampton, IA was the winner of the USMTS stock cars as thirty-three cars checked in for the racing action. Bruce Sommerfeld picked up the win on the USMTS hobby stock main event.



HEAT 1: Tim Donlinger, Ron Ver Beek, Charlie McKenna, Johnny Saathoff, Troy Cordes

HEAT 2: Martin Bennett, Duane Van Deest, Tommy Myer, Willy Kraft, Max Dunlap

HEAT 3: Kelly Shryock, Kevin Pittman, Mike Chasteen, Curt Badker, Jeremy Mills

HEAT 4: John Logue, Mark Noble, Corey Dripps, Jason Hughes, Kevin Peters

B-MAIN 1: Jason Hughes, Jeremy Mills, Corey Dripps, Doug Hillson, Steve Wetzstein

B-MAIN 2: Johnny Saathoff, Curt Badker, Kevin Peters, Russ Olson, Rick Gustin

A-MAIN: Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN, Mark Noble Blooming Prairie, MN, Willy Kraft Lakefield, MN, Kelly Shryock, Story City, IA, Johnny Saathoff Beatrice, NE, Rick Gustin Marshalltown, IA, Scott Olson Ellsworth, IA, John Logue Boone, IA, Tim Donlinger Rochester, MN, Curt Badker Clear Lake, IA, Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL, Jeremy Mills Ankeny, IA, Russ Olson Cedar Rapids, IA, Corey Dripps Cedar Falls, IA, Troy Cordes, Cedar Falls, IA, Doug Hillson Blooming Prairie, MN, Martin Bennett Des Moines, IA, Charlie McKenna Clear Lake, IA, Steve Wetzstein West Concord, MN, Jason Hughes Colcord, OK, Ron Ver Beek Oskaloosa, IA, Kevin Pittman Waterloo, IA, Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL

Latest Headlines


Ogilvie Raceway Mod Wars July 16-17

22nd Annual Masters


USMTS “Parade of Power” Shirt

USMTS “Parade of Power” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.