Shryock completes USMTS Gopher State sweep

KASSON, Minn. (Aug. 23, 2001) - On Thursday, the United States Modified Series visited Doge County Speedway in Kasson, Minn., for the second visit of the season. A full grandstand got to see some exciting racing as the racing surface was groomed well with plenty of moisture on the track.

Mike Sorensen started the race from the pole position with Chad Behne to his outside. Sorensen jumped out into the early lead before a hard-charging Willy Kraft raced side by side for six laps, leading four of those laps.

After a yellow flag, the drivers all went back to racing the bottom for the first couple of laps when the #19 Action Chassis car went into turn 3 a little hard and spun out in front of all cars. Jason Hughes was collected up in the accident and had to start at the tail.

On the restart, Kraft, who inherited the lead after the yellow, went to the high side and the #97 Modified of Ron Schreiner went to the inside and drove right by Kraft. Kraft would exit the track with a flat tire and not return.

Kelly Shryock, who started seventh, passed Schreiner with six laps to go and cruised on to the win in the Simpson Race Products A-main event -- his second straight in USMTS competition after winning the previous night at Chateau Raceway in Lansing, Minn.

Steve Wetzstein matched his top performance with another third-place finish. Rounding out the top 5 were Mike Chasteen, who started in the A-main from the eighth row, and Tommy Myer, who had went to the pits early in the race.

The last points race in the North Region will be Thursday, Aug. 30, at the Park Jefferson Speedway in Jefferson, S.D. For more information, call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944. Don’t forget fans and drivers that the 3rd Annual Fall Jamboree tickets are now on sale and the motels in Webster City are filling up fast so call and get your reservations today. Call Janet at 515-832-7944 to get your Jamboree tickets.


Heat 1 - Ron Schreiner, Chad Behne, Todd Sharckey, Jay Ihrke, Les Duellman.

Heat 2 - Jason Hughes, Steve Wetzstein, Dean Riess, Tommy Myer, Bob Timm.

Heat 3 - Kelly Shryock, Mike Sorensen, Nate Wasmund, Jordan Steier, Doug Hillson.

Heat 4 - Johnny Bone, Willy Kraft, Mark Noble, Todd Klees, Brad McEwan.

B-main 1 - Bob Timm, Nate Wasmund, Les Duellman, Jay Ihrke, Jim Arnold.

B-main 2 - Tommy Myer, Mike Chasteen, Jordan Steier, David Siercks, Brad McEwan.

Simpson Race Products A-main - 1. Kelly Shryock, LeMars, Iowa; 2. Ron Schreiner, Hudson, Wis.; 3. Steve Wetzstein, West Concord, Minn.; 4. Miek Chasteen, Creve Coeur, Ill.; 5. Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, Minn.; 6. Bob Timm, Winona, Minn.; 7. Todd Sharckey, Kasson, Minn.; 8. Johnny Bone, Pea Ridge, Ark.; 9. Todd Klees, Rochester, Minn.; 10. Dean Riess, Rochester, Minn.; 11. Brad McEwan, Storm Lake, Iowa; 12. Jason Hughes, Colcord, Okla.; 13. Doug Hillson, Blooming Prairie, Minn.; 14. David Siercks, Mounds View, Minn.; 15. Nate Wasmund, Rochester, Minn.; 16. Willy Kraft, Lakefield, Minn.; 17. Mike Sorensen, Rochester, Minn.; 18. Nathan Kilwine, Owatonna, Minn.; 19. Jordan Steier, Rochester, Minn.; 20. Les Duellman, Winona, Minn.; 21. Jay Ihrke, Dover, Minn.; 22. Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, Minn.; 23. Chad Behne, Claremont, Minn.; 24. Tim Donlinger, Rochester, Minn.

Latest Headlines


USMTS headed for Humboldt on August 5

When the Humboldt Speedway hosts the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s for the 15th Annual USMTS Summer Fling on Friday, August 6, it will be the 55th race for the USMTS at the 1/4-mile semi-banked clay oval. The USMTS Modifieds will battle for $10,000 to win and share the spotlight with USRA B-Mods and USRA Tuners, plus Midwest Mods and Factory Stocks. The pit gate

22nd Annual Masters

Jefferson, Hamilton declare victory, brace for USMTS invasion June 4-5