$20,000 to win when USMTS tackles two legends May 14-15

$20,000 to win when USMTS tackles two legends May 14-15

With Mother Nature’s blessing, the competitors in the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s resume their march to glory and the crowning of the next 2021 USMTS national champion when the series tackles two legendary dirt ovals with a combined $20,000 to win on the line.

On Friday, May 14, the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas, hosts the 7th Annual USMTS Spring Sizzler presented by VP Racing Fuels, and then Saturday, May 15, the caravan heads about five hours south to the mighty Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Oklahoma, for the 7th Annual USMTS Juggernaut presented by Hacienda Mechanical.

Each event will pay $10,000 to the winner and licensed starters earn at least $700 for clawing their way into the main event.

Friday’s show at the Lakeside Speedway will see the pits open at 3 p.m., grandstands open at 5, hot laps at 7:10 and racing at 7:30.

Support classes include Medieval USRA Stock Cars and USRA B-Mods competing for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points as well as E-Mods racing under track rules.

Since the debut of the USMTS at the Lakeside Speedway on July 13, 2012, there have been 20 events contested. Ryan Gustin won the first bout—his only win here—with 11 other drivers earning a checkered flag since then.

Terry Phillips and Rodney Sanders lead the way with four wins each while Jeremy Payne owns three wins. The only other multi-winner is defending Grant Junghans Memorial champion Ricky Thornton Jr.

Nic Bidinger, Matt Dotson, Jesse Sobbing, Aaron Marrant, Lucas Schott, Stormy Scott and Jake O'Neil have each tasted victory one time at the 4/10-mile speedplant.

The Lakeside Speedway is located 1.0 mile west of I-435 (exit 18) on SR 5 (northwest of Kansas City). The track location is 5615 Wolcott Dr, Kansas City, KS 66109. Check them out online at

Saturday’s show at the Tri-State Speedway will see the pits open at 4 p.m., grandstands open at 5:30, hot laps at 7 and racing at 7:30.

Support classes include USRA B-Mods and Sunoco USRA Factory Stocks competing for Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points.

The Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s has tip-toed on the border of Arkansas and Oklahoma on seven previous occasions and Jason Hughes walked away with the hardware in three of those races.

His last win, however, came in 2011 at the end of a three-year string of victories here. Fellow Oklahoman Eddie Martin took the initial USMTS checkers at the 3/8-mile high-banked red clay oval on June 3, 2008.

The series didn’t return until 2018 and Zack VanderBeek was victorious on that night. Hunter Marriott captured top honors in 2019 and Rodney Sanders netted his first win at Tri-State Speedway last June during the height of the pandemic.

The Tri-State Speedway is located 1.6 miles west of the Arkansas-Oklahoma State line on US 271, then 0.3 mile north. The track location is 1705 W Race Track Rd, Pocola, OK 74902. Check them out online at

For those unable to attend in person, you can catch every lap of every race in every division both nights at RacinDirt.TV.

Taking dirt to a new level: The 2021 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s features 36 nights of racing with the winners of those main events set to take home over $300,000 in earnings from more than $1 million in prize money earmarked for those shows. Twenty-six of the 36 race nights will pay at least $10,000 to win while the other 10 carry a $5,000 top prize.

As if that weren’t enough, more than $230,000 is committed to the top ten finishers in the 2021 points standings with a record $70,000 reserved for the 2021 USMTS National Champion.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCasey’sChevrolet PerformanceCompstarDirt DraftEibachFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceMTN DEW RISE ENERGYMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanThe Chunky PoodleVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDuvall ElectricHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton Ford RacingMiller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRace RanchRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBrown & Miller Racing SolutionsBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockForty9 DesignsHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsKeyser ManufacturingMaxima Racing OilsPenske Racing ShocksQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 34 Raceway, 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Big O Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Revolution Park, RPM Speedway, Superbowl Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway.

Latest Headlines

O’Neil obliterates USMTS field in Oklahoma

Not even a delay of nearly two hours for a crackling powerline could stop Jake O’Neil from electrifying the crowd at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla., as he took the lead o…

Timm tops night two of Dairyland Showdown

Jake Timm crossed the river from his home in Winona, Minn., and captured the Summit USMTS National Championship main event Friday night at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain C…


USMTS Highlights from Tri-State Speedway 5/14/22

Highlights from the 8th Annual Juggernaut on Saturday, May 14, 2022, featuring the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla.

Huge Memorial Day Weekend ahead for USMTS

USMTS Highlights from Mississippi Thunder Speedway 5/7/22


USMTS “Rollin’ Thunder” Shirt

USMTS “Rollin’ Thunder” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.