Phillips to be inducted into National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame on FridayTerry Phillips will be inducted into the National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame on Aug. 13, 2021.

Phillips to be inducted into National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame on Friday

The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame will host induction ceremonies for a pair of classes during the annual ceremony held in conjunction with the North-South 100 this weekend at the Florence Speedway in Union, Ky.

The 2020 class, which was postponed a year due to COVID-19 restrictions, will be enshrined after a luncheon on Friday afternoon. The members of 2021 class will receive their honors on Saturday afternoon.

Among the 2020 class is Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo.—a superstar with the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s.

The 55-year-old won four Lucas Oil MLRA titles and six MARS championships between 1994 and 2010, scoring 210 feature wins along the way. His first major victory came in 1995 during a $25,000-to-win show at the Route 66 Speedway in Joplin, Mo. He added a 1999 crown jewel victory in the Show-Me 100 at the West Plains Motor Speedway and won Batesville Motor Speedway's Topless 100 in 2013. The ten-time World 100 starter had a career-best fourth-place finish in 2001 at Eldora Speedway's crown jewel.

Phillips scored a $100,000 dirt modified victory at Batesville in 2005, and earlier that year on May 15 he won his first feature with the United States Modified Touring Series at the Monett Speedway in Monett, Mo.

Four years and one day later, his second win came at his hometown Springfield Raceway, and then he came up just a few feet short of his first USMTS crown jewel when Jason Hughes beat him to the finish line in the finale of the Featherlite Fall Jamboree at the Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minn.

In 2010 he returned to the winner's circle at Monett for his third USMTS trophy, but once again his attempt at a Fall Jamboree title was thwarted by Hughes who captured Saturday's finale while Phillips won both preliminary features.

Finally, on Saturday, Sept. 24, 2011, Phillips earned his first Fall Jamboree trophy and a $9,000 paycheck. Since then, Phillips has registered four more victories at 'The Creek,' including a pair of World Modified Dirt Track Championship preliminaries but has not taken home another Fall Jamboree title. He finished second in the event again in 2013 behind Hughes and was runner-up one year later to Rodney Sanders despite a crowd-pleasing drive from the 16th starting spot that night.

Terry Phillips celebrates in Deer Creek Speedway's victory lane after winning the 2011 Featherlite Fall Jamboree. 

During his USMTS career, Phillips has amassed 35 main event victories at 22 different dirt ovals in 10 states. He ranks 10th on the series all-time wins list with his most recent triumph coming April 3 this year at the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa.

Phillips will join his legendary father, Larry Phillips, who was inducted with the first National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame class in 2001. Last year, he also became the second in his family to be inducted into the Ozarks Area Racers Hall of Fame.

In addition to Terry Phillips, the 2020 National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame class includes Dick Barton, Kevin Claycomb, Terry English, Tommy Joe Pauschert, Mike Allgaier, Sanford Goddard and Dick Murphy. The inductees for 2021 include Jeff Aikey, Wade Knowles, Darrell Lanigan, Clint Smith, Bobby Allen, Gerald Newton, Audie Swartz and Bob Shryock—the father of nine-time USMTS national champion Kelly Shryock.

Both induction ceremonies will be broadcast live on the NDLMHoF Facebook page.

The National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame is a 501c3 non-profit organization that depends solely on fundraising and donations to operate. For more information visit

Taking dirt to a new level: The 2021 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s features 36 nights of racing with the winners of those main events set to take home over $300,000 in earnings from more than $1 million in prize money earmarked for those shows.

Most main events will pay at least $10,000 to win while the others carry a minimum $5,000 top prize. And if that weren’t enough, more than $230,000 is committed to the top ten finishers in the 2021 points standings with a record $70,000 reserved for the 2021 USMTS National Champion.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

The most recent USMTS victory for Terry Phillips happened April 3, 2021, at the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa.

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCasey’sChevrolet PerformanceCompstarDirt DraftEibachFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceMTN DEW RISE ENERGYMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanThe Chunky PoodleVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDuvall ElectricHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton Ford RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRace RanchRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBrown & Miller Racing SolutionsBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockForty9 DesignsHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsKeyser ManufacturingMaxima Racing OilsPenske Racing ShocksQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Revolution Park, RPM Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway.

Latest Headlines

O’Neil obliterates USMTS field in Oklahoma

Not even a delay of nearly two hours for a crackling powerline could stop Jake O’Neil from electrifying the crowd at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla., as he took the lead o…

Timm tops night two of Dairyland Showdown

Jake Timm crossed the river from his home in Winona, Minn., and captured the Summit USMTS National Championship main event Friday night at the Mississippi Thunder Speedway in Fountain C…


USMTS Highlights from Tri-State Speedway 5/14/22

Highlights from the 8th Annual Juggernaut on Saturday, May 14, 2022, featuring the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla.

Huge Memorial Day Weekend ahead for USMTS

USMTS Highlights from Mississippi Thunder Speedway 5/7/22