Urbana underwater, USMTS heads for Tri-State Speedway Thursday

Urbana underwater, USMTS heads for Tri-State Speedway Thursday

Championship weekend for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s was shortened from four races to three today when officials from the Dallas County Speedway were forced to cancel Wednesday’s 3rd Annual Wehrs Machine Bullring Bash.

“With much regret the third annual USMTS Bullring Bash will be canceled,” said track owner/promoter Scotty Allen. “We waited it out as long as we possibly could, but with the distance some of the racers have to travel, fans and employees missing time at work to get to a mid-week race, the time has come.

“(USMTS promoter) Todd Staley and myself have been in communication, and with the heavy rains we received Sunday night and low temps it’s not allowing for our pits or parking areas to dry out, along with the 85% chance of rain Wednesday during the day and evening we have decided it would be better to cancel now.”

The event, which has been awarded the Race of the Year Award the past two seasons, was originally slated for Aug. 19 but was postponed until this week and set to serve as the lid-lifter for the Modster Mash.

Opening night of the USMTS championship weekend will now take place Thursday, October 28, at the popular Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla., for the $10,051-to-win inaugural USMTS King of the Ring presented by Rancho Milagro.

The night's action will also feature USRA B-Mods competing for $1,051 to win. The extra $51 on each winner's check denotes the Tri-State Speedway's 51 consecutive years of racing.

This will be the second consecutive year that the Modster Mash has been scheduled for the high-banked clay oval. The event was rained out in 2020.

Pit gates will open at 4 p.m. with the grandstands opening at 5:30. Hot laps are scheduled to hit the track at 6:30 with racing to follow.

For more information check out

On Friday, October 29, the USMTS returns to the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., for the 6th Annual Grant Junghans Memorial presented by Mel Hambelton Ford which currently carries a top prize of $12,002 with a minimum of $1,402 to start the main event.

USRA B-Mod competitors will also be in action with racers battling for valuable Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points and $2,222 to win.

Ricky Thornton Jr. is the defending champion of the Grant Junghans Memorial. Other winners include Jacob Bleess (2019), Jake O'Neil (2018), Rodney Sanders (2017) and Lucas Schott (2016). Bleess’ win came at the 81 Speedway while the others happened at the Lakeside Speedway.

As it has since the beginning, this year’s event will raise money for the Grant Junghans Memorial Fund which supports research and funding for childhood cancer in honor of the late racer from Manhattan, Kan.

For more information check out

Then on Saturday, October 30, the crowning of the 2021 USMTS national champion will take place after the checkered flag waves at the 2nd Annual USMTS Modified Spook-tacular at the 81 Speedway in Park City, Kan. The race winner will pocket no less than $10,030.

The Chunky Poodle USRA B-Mods will also be in action racing for $1,031 to win.

Trick-or-treating for the kids will happen from 2-3 p.m. with a free Halloween Walk through the pits. Grandstands open at 3:30, hot laps begin at 5:15 and racing gets underway at 6.

For more information check out

If you can’t be there in person, each night will be broadcast live at

Taking dirt to a new level: The Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s currently features 33 nights of racing with the winners of those main events set to take home over $300,000 in earnings from more than $1 million in prize money earmarked for the 2021 campaign.

Most main events pay at least $10,000 to win while the others carry a $5,000 top prize or more. And if that weren’t enough, more than $200,000 is committed to the top ten finishers in the 2021 points standings with a record $70,000 reserved for the 2021 USMTS national champion.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCasey’sChevrolet PerformanceCompstarDirt DraftEibachFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceMTN DEW RISE ENERGYMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanThe Chunky PoodleVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDuvall ElectricHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton Ford RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRace RanchRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBrown & Miller Racing SolutionsBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockForty9 DesignsHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsKeyser ManufacturingMaxima Racing OilsPenske Racing ShocksQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Revolution Park, RPM Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway.

Latest Headlines

Masters finale goes to USMTS champ Ramirez

A week void of good luck and sprinkled with some bad luck forced Dereck Ramirez to do what fans have become accustomed to—figuring it all out for the finale and heading home with …

O’Neil outduels Mullens for Masters glory

On the second night of the 23rd Annual Masters at the Cedar Lake Speedway, Jake O’Neil raced side-by-side with Tanner Mullens for the better part of Friday night’s 40-lap fe…

Dustin doubles Dad with USMTS Masters win

Thursday’s opener at the 23rd Annual Masters was the 16th event of the 2022 season for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt, and points leader Dustin Sore…

USMTS Belleville Dirt Nationals to O’Neil

The bar was set high on Friday during the opening night of the Belleville Dirt Nationals, but the drivers of the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt stepped right …


23rd Annual Masters set for June 16-18

The season’s second crown jewel awaits as the 23rd Annual Masters features three nights of action-packed racing with complete programs each night for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt this Thursday, Friday and Saturday, June 16-18. This year’s blockbuster at the Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis., will feature Summit USMTS Modifieds competing on Th

Aftershock: Highlights from Belleville High Banks 6/10/22

USMTS Highlights from Mason City Motor Speedway 5/30/22


USMTS “All-American Badass” Shirt

USMTS “All-American Badass” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.