Kwik Star Spring Meltdown brings USMTS home to Hamilton County Speedway April 8-9

Kwik Star Spring Meltdown brings USMTS home to Hamilton County Speedway April 8-9

Update 4/4/22 - This event has been canceled.

With four of this year’s 42 planned events in the books, the 2022 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt is shaping up to be the most grueling of grinds in the 24 seasons for the Best of the Best in dirt modified racing.

On Friday and Saturday, April 8-9, the series returns to the birthplace of the USMTS and the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, for the 16th Annual Kwik Star Spring Meltdown.

Originally slated for April 1-2, the show was postponed one week due to cold and miserable weather this weekend.

After acquiring the fledgling USMS in 1999, Todd and Janet Staley’s USMTS highlighted the first four Fall Jamborees from 1999-2002 at their hometown racetrack. In the naugural event, nine-time USMTS national champion Kelly Shryock won the first night on Oct. 7, 1999, while Ron Jones went on to win the next two nights and capture the first Fall Jamboree title.

Since then, victory lane at the historic half-mile oval has been visited by Kevin Pittman, Mark Noble, Tommy Myer, Johnny Saathoff, Jason Hughes, Willy Kraft, Ryan Gustin, Johnny Scott, Jesse Sobbing, Cade Dillard, Jake O'Neil, Zack VanderBeek, Terry Phillips, Dustin Sorensen and Tanner Mullens.

Shryock has four wins here while Jones, Noble, Hughes and Scott each have two.

USMTS Modifieds will pay $5,000 to win Friday's feature ($500 to start) while a whopping $10,000 awaits the winner of Saturday's main event with no less than $700 to start the finale.

Seneca Foundry USRA Stock Cars ($500 and $700 to win), Stein Heating & Cooling USRA B-Mods ($500 and $600 to win) and Diamond in the Rough USRA Hobby Stocks ($400 and $500 to win) are also on tap both nights. USRA Tuners join the program on Saturday.

Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series national points will be awarded both nights. Points in the Christie Door Company Northern Region driven by MVT are up for grabs Saturday which is the first night for track points.

An open practice is scheduled for Thursday, April 7. The pits will open at 3 and grandstands open at 5. The pit meeting is planned for 5:45 with practice from 6-9 p.m. Pit passes are $25 and grandstand seating is free.

All times are Central Standard Time. The times and prices below are the same both days:

Pits Open 4 p.m.
Grandstands 5 p.m.
Draw Closes 6:15 p.m.
Pit Meeting 6:30 p.m.
Hot Laps 6:45 p.m.
Qualifying & Racing 7 p.m.
All times Central Standard Time

Adults (17+) $25
Seniors $20
Military $20
Juniors $20
Kids (6-11) $10

Adults $40
Youth $30

Opening in July 1910, the Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway is the oldest speedway in the state of Iowa. In 1938, work began on the current location at the Hamilton County Fairgrounds. The semi-banked half-mile dirt track was completed in the spring of 1939, and the first races were held on the track in September of that year.

The Karl Chevrolet Hamilton County Speedway is located off US 20 at exit 140, then 1.2 miles north, then 0.5 mile east on Bank St., then 0.4 mile south on Bluff St. to the Hamilton County Fairgrounds in Webster City, Iowa. The physical address is 1200 Bluff St, Webster City, IA 50595. For more information, call (515) 832-6000 or check out You can also get social on Facebook, InstagramTwitter and YouTube.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USRA news delivered to your inbox.

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersChevrolet PerformanceCompstarFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirtSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: ARMI ContractorsBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton RacingMidwest Wrap Co.Miller WeldersPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing & RentalSalty's BBQ &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsJE PistonsKeyser ManufacturingPenske Racing ShocksPerformance Bodies & PartsQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 81 Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Belleville High Banks, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Chateau Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, I-70 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Tri-State Speedway, Winneshiek Raceway.

Latest Headlines

USMTS unveils 2023 schedule

With the dust barely settled and the engines nearing room temperature, officials from the United States Modified Touring Series have announced the biggest and boldest schedule yet for t…

Davis captures USMTS finale at 81 Speedway

The 2022 campaign for the Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt finished just like it started with Tyler Davis finding victory lane in the season opener and Saturday…


Sorensen crowned 2022 Summit USMTS National Champion

Dustin Sorensen captured the 2022 Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt. The 21-year-old is the youngest champion since Ryan Gustin in 2011. Sorensen earned the richest paycheck in series history as $100,000 is going back to Rochester, Minnesota, along with the first Leon Ramirez Trophy which will be awarded to every champion from now until the USMTS ceases to exist. Affe

AFTERSHOCK: 8th Annual USMTS Kansas City Sizzler @ Lakeside Speedway 10/28/22

AFTERSHOCK: USMTS King of the Ring @ Tri-State Speedway 10/27/22


USMTS “Cowboy Up!” Shirt

USMTS “Cowboy Up!” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.