2020 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Tanner Mullens

USMTS Announcer Bryce Hall, in conjunction with, recently spoke with 2020 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Tanner Mullens to discuss this past year in the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s and what lies ahead for the 28-year-old from Wichita, Kansas.

While Mullens has won several local races in his Modified over the years, the first USMTS triumph on June 3 at the Lucas Oil Speedway might have been the biggest of his career. He inherited the lead with four laps remaining when front-running Terry Phillips had mechanical issues and beat runner-up Dereck Ramirez by 2.19 seconds. The win removed the bad taste he had after losing the lead late and failing to win his first in front of his hometown family and friends at the 81 Speedway.

Before the season was done, he rattled off three more wins at the Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa; Mason City Motor Speedway in Mason City, Iowa; and Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, Kansas.

Mullens got a late start, missing nine races on the tour, but didn't given up hope on earning the Grant Junghans Rookie of the Year honors. He tracked down early leader Tyler Davis and won going away on his way to a seventh-place finish in the final points for the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey's.

Along with his four wins, Mullens recorded 15 top-five and 28 top-ten finishes in his 31 starts. He led 148 main event laps and wound up third in the final FK Rod Ends Hard Charger Award standings.

Final 2020 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year points:
1. Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan. ... 2145
2. Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan. ... 1851
3. Calvin Iverson, Eleva, Wis. ... 1698
4. Casey Skyberg, Rapid City, S.D. ... 1628
5. Nathan Hagar, Adair, Okla. ... 1265

Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award winners include Tanner Mullens (2020), Hunter Marriott (2019), Jake O'Neil (2018), R.C. Whitwell (2017), Ricky Thornton Jr. (2016), Jesse Sobbing (2015), Cade Dillard (2014), Trevor Hunt (2013), Stormy Scott (2012), Jason Grimes (2011), Johnny Scott (2010), Grant Junghans (2009), Brandon Kenny (2008), Scott Green (2007), Jay Poidinger (2006), Brad McEwan (2005), Zack VanderBeek (2004), Corey Dripps (2003), Justin Boney (2002), Jason Hughes (2001) and Kevin Peters (2000).

Visit for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = = =

USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS:  American Racer Racing TiresBeyea HeadersCasey’sChevrolet PerformanceCompstarDirt DraftEibachFast ShaftsFK Rod EndsIntercompJerovetz Motorsports Racing PartsK1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers MotorsportsKS EngineeringKSE Racing ProductsMalvern BankMesilla Valley TransportationMSD PerformanceMyRacePassNitroquest MediaPEM Racing Gears & DrivetrainRacinDirt.comSummit Racing EquipmentSuper CleanThe Chunky PoodleVP Racing FuelsWrisco Industries.

USMTS PARTICIPATING SPONSORS:  ARMI ContractorsBoomtest Well ServiceBoubin Tire & AutomotiveBrodix Cylinder HeadsDuvall ElectricHacienda MechanicalMel Hambelton Ford RacingMiller WeldersMtn Dew RISE EnergyPBM Performance ProductsRancho Milagro RacingRHRSwag.comS&S Fishing &

USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS:  AFCO Racing ProductsAllstar PerformanceBigDeal Car CareBrown & Miller Racing SolutionsBryke RacingBSB ManufacturingChamp PansDeatherage OpticiansEdelbrockForty9 DesignsHooker HarnessIntegra Racing Shocks and SpringsKeyser ManufacturingPenske Racing ShocksQA1RacerWebsite.comReal Racing WheelsSimpson Performance ProductsSwift SpringsSybesma GraphicsTire DemonWehrs Machine & Racing ProductsWilwood Racing.

USMTS RACETRACKS: 34 Raceway, 81 Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Big O Speedway, Casino Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Fayette County Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Humboldt Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Ogilvie Raceway, Park Jefferson Speedway, Rapid Speedway, RPM Speedway, Superbowl Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Upper Iowa Speedway.

Latest Videos

9th Annual USMTS Cajun Clash explodes April 23

Prepare yourself as the fire-breathing outlaws of the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey's invade the Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, Lousiana, for the 9th Annual Caj…

Webster City braces for USMTS April 2-3

Hungry race fans starving for the aroma of burning fuel, the scream of American-made 🇺🇸 horsepower and the sight of the world’s best dirt modified drivers in comba…


$20,000 to win when USMTS tackles two legends May 14-15

With Mother Nature’s blessing, the competitors in the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s resume their march to glory and the crowning of the next 2021 USMTS national champion when the series tackles two legendary dirt ovals with a combined $20,000 to win on the line. On Friday, May 14, the Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kansas, hosts the 7th Annual USMTS Spring

USMTS locked and loaded for Louisiana twin bill

Sorensen shines in USMTS finale at Hamilton County Speedway


USMTS “Fluorescent Fast” Shirt

USMTS “Fluorescent Fast” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.