Weig, Zehr, Van Deest first night winners at 3rd Annual Fall Jamboree

WEBSTER CITY, Iowa (Oct. 2, 2001) - The first night of racing took place for the 3rd Annual Fall Jamboree at the Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City. A very good field of cars was on hand for the racing action with more than 100 cars in the pit area. The first night of racing started out with the local econo class, Hobby Stocks, and IMCA Type modifieds taking to the ˝ mile speedway. A good crowd witnessed some great side by side racing.

In the Econo class Nathan Weig from Hubbard, IA jumped out to the lead and picked up the win. Joe Paullin Dayton, IA fresh off his win on Sunday night ran a strong second to Weig. Sixteen econo’s showed up for the racing action. The econo class will run again on Wednesday night with the main event being set for Saturday. Rounding out the top five for Tuesday nights races was Jason Vansickle, Ryan Caquelin and Brandon Toftee.

In the Hobby Stock class Doug McCollough looked as if he was going to pick up the first night win, but Jeff Zehr had something to say about that. Zehr who picked up the win in the heat race, but forgot to go to the tech area. In doing that Zehr was disqualified and had to start at the tail of the B-main. In the B-main Zehr worked his way around all fifteen cars and picked up the win giving him a eleventh row starting spot for the main event. Zehr worked his way up towards the front before a yellow flag came out. At the yellow McCollough had his car set on cruise with Randy Embrey chasing. On the restart Zehr was called for jumping the start and would be sent back four cars at the next yellow. The breaks were with Zehr as a yellow on lap fourteen moved Zehr back to ninth place. When racing resumed Zehr moved his car to the front and passed McCollough with two laps to go. Rounding out the top five was Embrey, Tory Riecks, and Rodger Caquelin.

The final race of the night was the IMCA type modifieds. The track had been real racy before this event and these drivers all went to the bottom of the speedway. The racing was still very good as drivers that started at the rear of the field made there moves to get to the front. Duane Van Deest who started in the third row worked his way to the front and passed polesitter Russ Dickerson on lap ten and cruise on to the win. Scott Olson tried a couple times towards the end of the race to get past the #80 of Van Deest, but couldn’t quit get the job done and had to settle for a second place finish. Rounding out the top five was Darin Duffy, Mark Elliott, and Bruce Hanford. Racing will continue tonight with these three classes plus the USMTS manufacturers challenge race.



Feature - Nathan Weig, Joe Paullin, Jason Vansickle, Ryan Caquelin, Brandon Toftee, Jeremy Ades, Brandon Ratcliff, Terry Buenting, Kevin Sturm, Chris Webb, AJ Lagenwalter, Ron Russell, Jeff Deal, Justin Ades.


Feature - Jeff Zehr, Doug McCollough, Randy Embrey, Tory Riecks, Rodger Caquelin, Jason Minnehan, Todd Wilson, Dan Feltus, Joe Wolfgram, Kit Hovey, Ron Stein, Mark Haglund, Dave Disbrowe, Scott Durlin, Jerry Dixon, Jim Ringham, Rodney Slagle, Tom Alexander, Wayne Gifford, Doug Ockerman, James Brower, Ron Stein, Dan Hanselman, Gerald Gatewood.


Feature - Duane Van Deest, Scott Olson, Darin Duffy, Mark Elliott, Bruce Hanford, Rick Gustin, Adam Larson, Jeremy Mills, Richie Gustin, Russ Dickerson, Al Hejna, Joe McBirnie, Dwayne Pihulak, Rich Lewerke, Denny Stoneburner, Greg Peck, Mike Baker, Duane Peterson, Curt Badker, Rod Clement, Donnie Bown, Kevin Stoa, John VanDenBerg, Dean Mahlstadt.

Latest Headlines

22nd Annual Masters materializes June 17-19

The undisputed best of the best in the world of dirt track racing converge on the Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis., on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, June 17-19, when the Summi…


22nd Annual Masters

Thursday, June 17
$5,000 to win Friday, June 18
$5,000 to win Saturday, June 19
$10,000 to win USMTS Modifieds plus CLS Late Models and USRA Limited Late Models. Complete show each night.

USMTS Memorial Day Tripleheader hat trick worth $30,000

USMTS $10k2win Lakeside May 14, $10k2win Tri-State May 15