usmts caseys

Boyce wins USMTS Roughrider opener

MINOT, N.D. (June 7, 2002) - Joren Boyce of Minot, N.D., drew the pole postion and led all 25 laps in the first night of racing action at the USMTS 7th Annual Fisher Motors Roughrider Classic in Minot, N.D.

Boyce held back some very stiff competition as another local favorite Hank Berry tried for the pass entering turn 1 of the last lap. Mike Chasteen Creve Coeur, IL who drove all night to get here after motor troubles in Belleville, KS took third after starting eighth. Rounding out the top five was Jon Tesch and Johnny Bone. Forty-seven cars checked in for the racing action. Heat race winners were Jon Tesch, Mike Chasteen, Les Duellman, Joren Boyce, and Tommy Myer. B-mains were won by Kelly Shryock and Mike Spaulding. Racing will continue on Saturday night with hot laps at 5:30 and racing at 6pm.


Heat 1 - Jon Tesch, Mike Hagen, Allen Kent, Dean Mahlstadt, Drew Christianson.

Heat 2 - Mike Chasteen, Shawn Strand, Leo Burkhardsmier, Trent Johnson, Troy Kittler.

Heat 3 - Les Duellman, Todd Klees, Johnny Bone, Mike Spaulding, Colin Cook.

Heat 4 - Joren Boyce, Robert Hellebust, Kelly Shryock, Wayne Johnson, Steve Pfeifer.

Heat 5 - Tommy Myer, Mark Noble, Hank Berry, Jason Hughes, Ben Seidler.

B-main 1 - Kelly Shryock, Robert Hellebust, Dean Mahlstadt, Wayne Johnson, Marlyn Seidler.

B-main 2 - Mike Spaulding, Justin Boney, Allen Kent, Trent Johnson, Mark Dahl.

A-main - Joren Boyce, Hank Berry, Mike Chasteen, Jon Tesch, Johnny Bone, Tommy Myer, Justin Boney, Mike Spaulding, Dan Daniels, Shawn Strand, Todd Klees, Mark Noble, Jason Hughes, Les Duellman, Ben Seidler, Wayne Johnson, Kelly Shryock, Mike Hagen, Allen Kent, Trent Johnson, Dean Mahlstadt, Steve Pfeifer, Robert Hellebust, Leo Burkhardsmeir.

Latest Headlines

Ramirez in a landslide at RPM Speedway

In their ongoing quest to make racing great again, the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s concluded a three-night 80-hour excursion Sunday at the RPM Speedway in…

Sanders buries USMTS foes at Boothill

The path to a fourth USMTS national title for Rodney Sanders became clearer Saturday night after the 30-year-old from Happy, Texas, collected his tenth win of 2020 when the Summit USMTS…

VanderBeek turns 50 in Vivian

Zack VanderBeek trailed Joe Duvall for the first 200 feet of Friday’s main event at the 8th Annual USMTS Cajun Clash presented by JE Pistons, but the rest of the 40-lapper belonge…


USMTS Louisiana-Texas Tripleheader in Crosshairs

Delayed nearly five months due to the pandemic panic, the Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey's will finally embark on a three-race adventure through Louisiana and Texas this Friday, Saturday and Sunday, Sept. 11-13. Friday finds the fire-breathing USMTS freaks of fastness at the Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, La., for the 8th Annual USMTS Cajun Clash presented by JE Pistons.

USMTS Sponsor Spotlight: BigDeal Car Care

USMTS Sponsor Spotlight: K1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers Motorsports