Allen tops second night of USMTS action at Crawford County

VAN BUREN, Ark. (April 1, 2001) - John Allen (Chanute, KS) picked up the win on the second night of racing for the USMTS in Arkansas. Allen started the race from the sixth row outside and slowly worked his way to the front and took the lead on the outside as he passed pole sitter George Martin and 2000 series champion Kelly Shryock on the outside on lap 36 and leading the last four laps to take the win.

For the win Allen pocketed the $2000 winners paycheck.

George Martin (Fort Smith, AR) started the race form the pole and led the first 35 laps and was looking for his first win in two tries with the USMTS but was denied that when Allen and Shryock both got by on lap 36 and Martin had to settle for third for the second straight night.

The racing action was packed with excitement all night as drivers were using the whole track for the racing.

Steve Kosiski and Dan Daniels had a exciting race in the works when they were trying to pass Mike Collins and touched giving both drivers a flat tire and bringing out the first yellow on lap 13. When the racing resumed drivers were still using the whole track and the next yellow was displayed on lap 27 when the 65 car of Tommy Myer and the 27 car of Greg Skaggs tangled in turns 1-2.

That was the last yellow of the night until the last lap when the leader did receive the checkered flag and the yellow light was on for the Mike Collins car sitting on turn 1-2 when Tim Folkerts got into the back of the Collins car. Collins went down the back stretch and the motor was letting go causing the Folkerts car to get into the back of the Collins car. Folkerts did not stop and the race was called official at that time.

The USMTS rule is that as long as the leader receives the checkered flag the race is official and we go back to the last lap to score the rest of the race taking out the driver sitting on the track.

Rounding out the top five was Shryock, Martin, Folkerts and Mike Chasteen. Chasteen started the race from the seventh row outside and worked his way up to fifth.

The Harris Auto Racing heat races were won by Mike Collins, Tim Folkerts, Eddie Provence, Dan Daniels and George Martin.

The Midwest Motorsports B-mains were won by Mike Chasteen and Mark Massongill.

The next race for the USMTS will be at the Butler County Speedway in Allison, IA on Friday April 6th. The next race for the south region will be Friday April 13th at the Humboldt Speedway in Humboldt, KS and Friday moving to the Bethany Fairgrounds in Bethany, MO on Saturday April 14th. For more info call the USMTS office at 515-832-7944.


Heat 1 - Mike Collins, Shawn Brassfield, Steve Kosiski, Skeet Amason, Brian Slader

Heat 2 - Tim Folkerts, Tommy Myer, Mike Chasteen, Eddie Martin, Jeff Hull

Heat 3 - Eddie Provence, Larry Campbell, Dennis Slader, Gary Vaughan, Brian McGowen

Heat 4 - Dan Daniels, Greg Skaggs, John Allen, Mike Delozier, Nathan Mayes

Heat 5 - George Martin, Kelly Shryock, Kevin Peters, Mark Norris, Mark Massongill

B-main 1 - Mike Chasteen, Kevin Peters, Eddie Martin, Mark Norris, Steve Holzkamper

B-main 2 - Mark Massongill, Skeet Amason, Dennis Slader, Mike Delozier, Nathan Mayes

A-main - 1. John Allen Chanute, KS 2.Kelly Shryock Lemars, IA 3. George Martin Fort Smith, AR 4. Tim Folkerts Albia, IA 5. Mike Chasteen Peoria, IL 6. Mark Massongill Broken Arrow, OK 7. Kevin Peters Monmouth, IL 8. Eddie Provence Hensley, AR 9. Dan Daniels Humboldt, KS 10. Larry Campbell Van Buren, AR 11. Steve Kosiski Omaha, NE 12.Dennis Slader Muskogee, OK 13. Nathan Mayes Springdale, AR 14. Tommy Myer Blooming Prairie, MN 15. Brian McGowen Erie, KS 16. Mike Delozier Carthage, IL 17. Eddie Martin Stilwell, OK 18. Mike Collins Omaha, NE 19. Shawn Brassfield Ada, OK 20. Skeet Amason New Boston, TX 21. Steve Holzkamper Gentry, AR 22. Mark Norris Clinton, AR 23. Brian Slader Muskogee, OK 24. Greg Skaggs Glen Pool, OK

Latest Headlines


Ogilvie Raceway Mod Wars July 16-17

22nd Annual Masters


USMTS “All-American Badass” Shirt

USMTS “All-American Badass” Shirt

2019 USMTS Signature Collection: Custom design, superior quality and vibrant print on front and back. Limited quantities and sizes while supplies last.